Missionary Stories

DSC_1002 S Zabariza

Sister Zabariza

THE SPIRIT CARRIES OUR MESSAGE UNTO THE HEART

Last sunday, I was asked to be one of the speakers. I know I didn’t have a perfect grammar but I was so surprised when I saw that majority of the members were crying. They told me how great my talk was. I then realized that it wasn’t me, it’s the spirit. I’ve never been so confident like that since I’ve been here. But, with the help of the Spirit and the preparation of the listeners, the message was carried into their hearts. The Spirit is the teacher. He’s the testator. And I know that no matter how inadequate I feel I am, as long as I have the Spirit, I can do all things.   (Sister Zabariza)

DSC_0968 S Fukushima best

Sister Fukushima

 

COOKIE MIRACLES – Pt. 1

Last Wednesday, we delivered cookies out to White Mountain Lakes.  We visited one less active, we figured out that they weren’t home, so we were about to leave.

Then a strong impression came to us that we should wait.

We were already in the car, it was in the middle of the day, and we had more deliveries to make.  But we waited, and here he came back home in a minute.  So we handed him the plate of cookies, he told us that his wife would be home next week, and they will invite us for dinner.  That was just a great miracle. We looked at each other, and said Yeah!!! Yeah!!!
That was pretty much the only thing we could say. It was just super surprising.

And a couple days after that, this man called us and told us that there is one friend of his who wants to know more of the gospel.  We were like, what?  We screamed in the car after hanging up the phone. It seriously was a miracle.  We were supposed to “soften” this mans heart (that’s what our bishop told us) and he, he is bringing his friend into the gospel.  How could that happen!?!?!?

I know when there is some power beyond mine own.  We are starting to teach him this week.

I’m seeing so many miracles and how much cookies can open up people’s hearts (and even doors).  I can tell that this week is going to be great, even better!!!  (Sister Fukushima)

COOKIE MIRACLES – Pt. 2

Last night, we had our first lesson with this “cookie miracle referral” man.
He is 25 (if my memory is right) and has a two year old daughter, and is a single father.
We taught him the restoration, and he told us that learning more is what he wants.
We were prompted by the spirit, and invited him to be baptized.
And he said yes!!!!! He said that he will try his best!!!!!!!!
He is on date for March 19th, and we are so excited about it. This was the first time for me to receive a referral, teach the first lesson, and invite someone to be baptized.  But it was amazing. The spirit was strong, and I was so happy about everything that happened.

The Lord does prepare people and I know that to be true!!!!
I can’t wait to see more miracles this week!!!

福島姉妹より (Sister Fukushima)

Elder A.  Johnson

WHEN THEY KNOW AND FEEL YOUR LOVE, YOU CAN NEVER BE TOO BOLD

Okay, Justin K. is awesome. Justin is married to a woman that is an active member of the church (named Shannon) and for the last FOREVER, missionaries have been teaching him. He has received all of the missionary lessons and has been coming to church every week with his wife for the past FOREVER but in the last month or so, Justin has really begun to get serious about joining the church. Justin is ready to be baptized and constantly says, “I know that I’m ready to be baptized but I’m not READY yet.” and so as I’ve developed a relationship with him and we’ve become friends and have built trust, I have realized that I may as well just consistently invite him to be baptized. Last Thursday, we had dinner with Shannon and Justin and while we were at their house I was like, “Justin, you’re ready to be baptized, this is just ridiculous. You’re just denying yourself blessings every day that you wait. Will you prepare yourself to be baptized on Feb 27th?” and he was like, “No, Elder!” and that was that.

Well, on Saturday night, my companion and I were doing some planning and we felt prompted to just text Justin and invite him again to be baptized and that went something like this, “Hey Justin, hope you’re doing well. We know that you already declined the invitation to be baptized next Saturday but we were just doing some planning and we really felt prompted that we should text you to tell you that we feel that you would be prepared to be baptized on Feb. 27th and we figured that it couldn’t hurt to ask. Will you be baptized next Saturday, Feb. 27th?” and what happened next BLEW my mind. The next morning, we got a text from Justin saying, “Okay. I’m ready.” and when we saw him at church, we ironed out the details of his baptism and he told me, “Hey, thank you for constantly inviting me to be baptized and for loving me and my family enough to be bold with me.” He and I talked a little bit about how he felt so grateful that Elder Garvey had prepared him so well to be baptized. To me, this is a testimony of two things. One, if you love someone, you will be bold with them. Two, always follow promptings from the Spirit, even when they seem redundant or silly.  (Elder A. Johnson)

Leave a Reply

