A Consecrated Missionary

[Shared with permission; name withheld)

“This month has been so rough for me personally. No matter how hard I want to be focused, my mind goes to my family. My dad left his job a year ago. He tried to find another job but he didn’t have any luck. It’s hard to find a job especially when someone’s 40ish and older. And so, last January, my mom decided to work in a foreign country. Her job is to take care of a child. It was hard, she said. But she decided to be there for us.  This worries me all the time.

I didn’t know what to do. I wanted to be comforted and to feel peace, so I decided to kneel down in prayer. I’m certain that it was one of the most fervent and sincere prayers that I ever said.

I found peace when I read the scriptures the next morning; D&C 118:3

“Let the residue continue to preach from that hour, and if they will do this in all lowliness of heart, in meekness and humility, and long-suffering, I, the Lord, give unto them a promise that I will provide for their families; and an effectual door shall be opened for them, from henceforth.”

During the recent Zone Conference that we had, we were asked for the things that we want to sacrifice. Here are the things that I wrote:

-Sacrifice all doubts, concerns, fears and half-heartedness, and

-use my time wisely: DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!

Thank you for your inspired selections of the topics for the conference. Since then, I realized I needed to trust the Lord more especially when He promised that He will take care of the families of those who serve Him. Everything won’t be easy. But I know, as I consecrate my all to the Lord, he will do the same. I will leave everything behind to better fulfill my responsibility as a missionary.”

Leave a Reply

