Missionary Wisdom – Elder Flake

[Shared with permission]

It has hit me hard, especially this week, how small of role that we actually play in the conversion of our brothers and sisters. This scripture is now a reality: “Now ye may suppose that this is foolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.” Alma 37:6. I always knew it was true, but now I have experienced that it is true. Our Father does His own work. Our part is so small, we get to gently guide and observe those whom the Holy Ghost is teaching. I honestly feel as if I am the member present, and that the Holy Ghost has simply invited me to fellowship. At the start of this mission I thought that I was going to be converting people and saving souls in and of myself. But I cannot honestly take the credit that so overwhelmingly belongs to God. At first, it bugged me a little bit, because I didn’t feel very useful. But now I wouldn’t have it any other way, because there would be no converting or saving souls without His help. If we were on our own we really would be useless.”

DSCN0639 E Flake

Elder Flake

Leave a Reply

