Be Strong and Trust in the Lord – Missionary Wisdom from Sister Tenney

Hermana Tenney

Hermana Tenney

Sister Tenney is an amazing missionary. And, she’s a good basketball player and team mate too! Although she’s from the US, her ancestry is Maori from New Zealand. In fact her grandmother is a convert and it’s that story that she’s permitted me to post today.

“Thank you so much for the Zone conference President! That was so amazing and definitely something I needed to hear. I especially loved Elder Hoffman’s Training [on families] and one of the quotes he had was talking about these converts could be the top of a pyramid and their generations may prosper because of our diligence in the missionary work. And I loved that because all my grandparents are converts. And it especially made me think of my grandma (my dad’s mum) and how I am so grateful for those missionaries who went to teach my grandma, because she went through so much and it was only through the gospel that she was able to get through it all.

My grandma she was converted at 15 years old and she is the only one in her family who became a member and her family disowned her because of her decision. She had 7 children and then her and my grandpa got divorced and she was left to raise all the children on her own as a single mother in Samoa. She has the strongest testimony ever and she is really one of my heroes. She raised all 7 children and had 3 of them go on missions, all of them received degrees in college and all of them now are still strong in the gospel raising all their children – including me! And my grandma she was my bestest friend, even though our family used to live in Australia while the rest of our family lived in Utah, my grandma would fly over every 6 months to be with us and then she is the reason why we moved to Utah, so we could be with her. And I looked up to her in every aspect and she always had her little catch phrase that I always end my letters with, “Be strong and Trust in the Lord”.

She always told us grandchildren this and by her example I have come to be able to know and see how the Lord truly blesses us. My grandma passed away last year from cancer and it was the hardest time of my life to lose her, but it is through this gospel and this plan that God has for us, that I know I will see her again and that she is watching over me every day. I feel her presence every day especially on my mission knowing that I don’t just have amazing support here on earth, but I have so many angels watching over me too. And my family has been blessed because of just two missionaries who chose to teach a teenage girl and now look at all the generations it has blessed! So I am truly grateful for knowing this and knowing that I am able to have that same impact!!

Be Strong and Trust in the Lord
Kia Kaha, Kia Manawanui.
Hermana Tenney”

Leave a Reply

