Missionary Experience – Sister Lythgoe

Sister Lythgoe[Shared with Permission] I am in awe of this dear Sister’s faith – and the Spirit she has in such abundance. This experience demonstrates how literally the Lord fulfills his promise as recorded in D&C 84:85 “Neither take ye thought beforehand what ye shall say; but treasure up in your minds continually the words of life, and it shall be given you in the very hour that portion that shall be meted unto every man.”

“While talking to people at the park, I had another awesome experience. It appears that all of our miracles happen in parks for some reason. Haha.🙂 But anyway, we walked over to this lady who was sitting alone at a picnic table watching her son play football. Sister Hess started the conversation and made small talk about her son and football, etc. She asked the lady, “Do you mind if we sit down next to you?” And the lady said, “Well yeah, actually I do mind. I mean, you can sit wherever you would like, but I don’t want to talk, I just want to watch my son.” So we just stood there for a bit, pretending to watch the football game. Sister Hess continued to casually talk to her about football and her son. It was extremely awkward because we knew she didn’t want to talk to us. We just stood there and neither of us knew what to say or how to bring up the gospel to this lady who was obviously not interested.

So I said a prayer in my head, “Heavenly Father, I have no idea what I’m supposed to do. This is really awkward. Please let me know what I need to do.” God’s answer was so clear in my head. “Sister Lythgoe, you already know what you need to do!” I replied, “I know. I know I need to talk to her, but I have no idea what i’m supposed to say. Please, Heavenly Father, tell me what I need to say.”

My heart started pounding really fast, the way it does when I know i’m supposed to get up in sacrament meeting and bare my testimony. I knew I had to bring up the gospel, but I didn’t know how. So I put my trust in Heavenly Father and OPENED MY MOUTH. I said something like, “I know you said you don’t really want to talk, but we are servants of the Lord and we have an important message. I know it has made me so happy and blessed my life so much….” I don’t remember the rest of what I told her because I know it was God speaking. He did all the talking, I just opened my mouth. To my surprise, the lady accepted a Book of Mormon and our number and thanked us. Who knows if she will ever read it or join the church. But I know that it’s so important to allow everyone the opportunity. That experience really solidified my testimony that the promise in the scriptures is true. “Open your mouths, and they will be filled.” He really does tell us exactly what to say as we put our trust in Him.” (Sister Lythgoe)

Leave a Reply

