Sister Crowther – YSA Missionary – Finds A New Investigator

Sister Crowther

Sister Crowther

YSA Ward Elders and Sisters have a bit of a challenge: they must find those between 18 and 30 to teach.  If they contact people of other ages, they must refer them to the missionaries in the “home” wards and branches.  It is (at times) a daunting task to find.  Here is Sister Crowther’s most recent experience with “Inspired Finding”!

“So we were trying to go through our plans and figure out an effective finding idea where we were! My companion mentioned going inside the mall. We were both unsure if this would be kosher or not so we felt like we should try it! So we found a nice spot to sit by a lady and we smiled and said hi we went on with our phone calls then we started chatting with her. She was nice but shortly after she said she was doing well, she got up and walked away. We gave out a few flyers to some, and a little girl a picture of Jesus! While we made some phone calls! Then not even 2 mins later the mall security showed up and said you can’t solicit which I felt was going to happen. We left and walked out of the mall and then approached three high school age kids that were standing outside. One of them was smoking and he seemed the most interested at first! We taught the restoration! It was pretty awesome, but I could feel their level of interest wasn’t out of want to learn more, more of just being polite, but we left them with some copies of the Book of Mormon.

So that was good, but where were are the YSA’s that are prepared? This thought seemed heavier and heavier. I felt really down on myself, and achieving my purpose as a missionary to invite others to come unto Christ. What was I doing wrong, I am obedient. I do what is asked of me, but I found out just how important it is just to open my mouth and talk to people which I am pretty darn good at, just realizing it was a commitment with a promise.

That night we had a new member to the YSA coming out with us. She served her mission in Peru and the visits we made with her were nice. The people we visited were not really interested and two weren’t there but one of them was a Young Single Adult that the bishop had on his radar and wanted us to visit! But, Whitney wasn’t home either. The disappointment was getting heavier and heavier with each door we knocked on and no answer.

We then had two options: 1. Go and try Courtney a YSA who was referred to us by a member or (2) to knock on the door of Whitney’s neighbor! My heart wanted to go to the neighbor but my mind and feet were telling me nobody will answer or be home (or was that possibly Satan?). Striving to never ignore a prompting, we decided to go next door to Whitney’s neighbor and knock! We went despite all of the “no I’m not interested” responses from earlier in the day running through my head. We don’t tract (except in special circumstances) and we are supposed to listen to the spirit! Good thing we did! We met Connie! Sweet Sweet Connie from the South she was a HOOT! So Connie talked to us for 45 mins outside her door. We also met her live-in nurse, Crystal,

After a long chat with Connie and squeezing in a little bit with Crystal we left them with our number and Crystal a YSA flyer! We offered Connie service and she was tickled! She was so happy! Also she said the Jehovah Witness come and read with her and she would love us to come by, and read with her! She is 91!

Not only were we blessed for our persistent effort in sharing the gospel and listening to the spirit we were able to find those the Lord had prepared! Blessed with a new YSA investigator and a referral for the Elders! I know that as we were talking to her I could feel the joy that Alma talks about in Alma 36 about his conversion! He received a forgiveness for his sins and lived to bring others the light of the gospel so they can partake of the Atonement in their lives!
20 And oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea, my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain!
24 Yea, and from that time even until now, I have labored without ceasing, that I might bring souls unto repentance; that I might bring them to taste of the exceeding joy of which I did taste; that they might also be born of God, and be filled with the Holy Ghost.

It was a great evening and it just got better! Hannah (our YSA member who had come out with us) gave Crystal her number as well, and that evening after we departed from Hannah, Hannah texted us and told us that Crystal had texted her saying she wants to hang out and that she wants to go the Young Single Adult ward but is scared. Hannah talked to her a lot and she said she would keep us posted!

Well early the next morning we received a message from Hannah saying Crystal wants to learn more about the Gospel of Jesus Christ and that she is picking her up for church on Sunday! It was true joy that also filled my whole heart! Hannah said the night before “God answers prayers!” I know without a doubt in my heart or mind that He does hear prayers! He heard the 24 + prayers (I don’t even remember how many) I said that evening! I know that we grow our testimonies by acting in faith and when we do act we will receive a witness after the trial of our faith!”

Leave a Reply

