Missionary Wisdom – 2 Items

susnset over ripe wheat

A Field of “white” wheat: Already to Harvest

From Sister Doolhoff: “Each day feels like a month but each week feels like a day. Its crazy how time goes by in the mission. BUT I love it!”

From Elder Shirley: “Taking upon ourselves the name of Christ is not just something that we promise to do at baptism…. It is imperative that we immerse ourself in His name Taking upon ourselves the name of Jesus Christ is the only way that we can be saved. Taking upon ouselves the name of Christ is not a passive thing. Taking upon us the name of Christ is the act of sacrificing our acts and replacing them with His instead. To forget ourselves and remember Him. To have our old self die and a new spiritually new self rise and exemplify His acts through ours. I never realized that “taking the Lord’s name in vain” isn’t just using language in a profane way, it us using our agency in a profane way. It is separating ourselves from Him through our actions. But that’s not even the best part. The best part is that after polluting the name of Christ with any disobedient act, I can receive that light of forgiveness and the love of God in my heart. Even after I know I have gone against the perfection of God’s will, through my Savior and Mediator I can repent and still receive a portion of God’s Spirit to dwell with me as long as I strive to live worthy of it.

Leave a Reply

