Monday Miracles 1.13.2014

“We often consider ourselves more or less worthless and in some moods, even beyond help…. But worse still. We do not trust the good news. We do not trust the glad tidings. We do not trust the second opinion of the only Physician who will ever finally judge. This is the Christ. This is He who pleads with us to come boldly to the throne of Grace…… He, a Seer who transcends all seers, knows our past and our future, and whatever our present soul sicknesses, He knows who we were in the premortal spheres and he does envision our future—what we are to become in the resurrection. In contrast to that, we live in the blur of amnesia about our past and we’re subject to fits of doubt and disbelief about our real potential. But hear these words of Elder George Q. Cannon: ‘Now this is the truth. We humble people, we who feel ourselves sometimes so worthless—so good for nothing. We are not so worthless as we think. There is not one of us but what God’s love has been expended upon. There is not one of us that He has not cared for and caressed. There is not one of us that He has not desired to save and that he has not devised means to save. There is not one of us that He has not given his angels charge concerning. We may be insignificant and contemptible in our own eyes, and even in the eyes of others, but the truth remains that we are children of God and He has actually given his angels charge concerning us and they watch over us and have us in their keeping.’”Gospel Truth, comp. Jerreld L. Newquist, Salt Lake City: Deseret Book Co., 1974, 1:2.) (The Savior, the Sacrament and Self Worth, Truman G. Madsen)
A Missionary Finds the Love of God 
So for personal study i have been praying and listening to talks by Elder Holland. But one day I was praying well it was more like a companionship inventory with Heavenly Father, and I just received so many answers to my prayers and just relief from everything that has been on my mind. I had a clear thought that where ever he asks me to go I should go. Along with whatever he asks me to do. So if I’m needed to teach here in English, or Spanish, or in Brazil in Portuguese I will do what he asks. I also told Heavenly Father how much I love being here. How much I love being a missionary, and how much I love the Savior. I just said everything in my heart and when I finished I just felt new. Like it doesn’t matter what’s in the past. I shouldn’t be scared to move forward because God is supporting me. It was one of the best moments I can remember.  Just feeling like I can relax.  God will continue to shape me into who he wants me to become I just need to… listen to the Spirit.
He Will Lead You to Them, or He Will Lead Them to You (p. 155 PMG)
One day, Sister xxxx and I were walking around a neighborhood. We had made a goal that day to talk to everyone we met. Well, we walk past this gentleman, but we did not say “hi.”  So I got an impression to turn around and go talk to him. I tell Sister xxxx, but then I was like “Let’s just keep walking.”  But then, I was like, “Let’s go talk to him.”  So we turned around, talked to him, shared a message with him, gave him a Book of Mormon, and now he’s getting baptized on January 4, 2014! It was an amazing day and my first baptismal date on my mission. I’m just so excited because I know this gospel will change his life. He wants a family which is just perfect! The gospel is centered on families. It was an amazing experience.
More
A cool experience that happened this week was we were walking down 16th avenue on Friday night and a car pulled over and this lady started to talk to us. It turns out that she is a former investigator that pretty much disappeared 2 weeks into last transfer. She said that she was thinking a lot about her Dad (who was a member) while she was driving and then she saw us walking and pulled over. It was really neat and she told us she wanted to start the lessons again. It was awesome because if we had been in any other place at that time we wouldn’t have found her. The Spirit is pretty much the greatest thing ever in this work.
And More!
It seems like each week more miracles keep happening. This Monday we received a referral from Elder xxxx and Elder xxxx for a lady named Chy. We had a phone number but only knew the complex that she lived in. We had a lesson that night in the complex and so we headed over there. After the lesson we decided to call Chy and as we were pulling out the phone to call her a car suddenly stopped in front of us. A lady stepped out and said, “Are you looking for Chy?” we said yes. “That’s me!” she said. She asked us to stop by in 20 minutes. We frantically called some members looking for a third male to come with us, and miraculously got one very last minute. We had an amazing lesson with her Monday night. She told us that her friend just got back from his mission, and his return has really sparked her interest. She had a lot of questions because her entire life, her family had told her false information about the church. She had wanted to meet missionaries for a few days, and finally on Monday she said to herself while walking in Walmart, I need to find the missionaries. As she looked up Elders xxxx and xxxx were standing there. We set a baptismal date with her the next night for Jan 18. We got some fellowshippers for her and they are doing great! The next night we came back and had invited her to pray about the Book of Mormon. She said that night she had prayed, but only felt a little bit of warmth in her heart, but the next morning she decided to pray out loud for the first time ever. She said that she was overcome with the Spirit. She has now finished 1st Nephi, and came to church. We also took her to a baptismal service on Saturday and the members are doing so great to fellowship her.
Need I Say, “More”?
We have seen miracle after miracle! we over reached our Less-active, Recent Convert lessons goal (20) for the week which we thought would be a major stretch in and of itself, we are now seeing 4 families/people who had previously shown no interest in meeting with us or coming back to church. We’re seeing hearts softening right and left and we love it!

One thought on “Monday Miracles 1.13.2014

  1. Qué hermosas experiencias. Veo como eso Señor siempre está ahí para ayudar a las personas, y si cada uno hacemos nuestra parte el evangelio se extenderá y hará cambiar las vidas de muchas personas. Grancias por compartir las experiencias de los misioneros/as.

Leave a Reply

