Missionary Letters 10.28.2013

A Mission President receives weekly letters from the missionaries. They are a source of joy as missionaries testify to the miracles happening around them, and inside them. Here’s a letter from a Sister missionary that has been in the mission only 6 weeks. Her growth since arriving has been amazing! Enjoy! (Shared with permission)

Dear President,
I am grateful to be in this area it has a lot of work and especially with less actives. I am understanding and learning so much more than I ever would be able to if I wasn’t here. I love my companion; she is supportive. I am overall happy and excited about the work. I am striving to learn more, since being here I have realized how little I know. But I know with the Heavenly Father’s help all things are possible.

I am realizing the enormity of the Atonement. It is EVERYTHING! The Savior is EVERYTHING! As I interact with all these less-active members I am seeing them and their circumstances with different eyes. Gospel eyes… eternal eyes… President my heart is changing, yeah it took a week.. but I can feel it! I don’t really know how to best describe the change that is taking place in my heart. I see these people as sons and daughters of God and I see how they so desperately need the Savior in their lives, and I can’t help but think that, less than 4 years ago that was me. I was inactive and now that I am seeing looking into these peoples’ lives that huge void that is missing I can’t help but realize the reality of the Atonement and the gospel and the plan of happiness.

I am so grateful for everything I do know, yes it may not be much, but I know as I keep going and study the best I can the Lord will help me. For what I do know I am so grateful! I am so grateful to my family for doing the best they can, especially raising me in the church. I am realizing the more we become consecrated missionaries the more that Heavenly Father can bless us… the more we will be able to help others… the more we will be able to live up to our covenants. I am so blessed to be here and I know that I am here for a purpose, to invite others to come unto the Savior.

“Enough about me”, is what I am slowly but surely learning. Its not about me. Its about everyone else. This was the hardest and is the hardest thing I have learned in the last week and a half, which I did not think I had a problem with until I got on my mission, I see how the world has so many distractions and I am grateful for the opportunity to take these 18 months and focus on the once in a lifetime opportunity to preach the gospel. President please know that I love the Savior! I love my Heavenly Father! I love my family and know that I am going to try my best to pleasing unto my Savior and Heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

